DSCC Administrative Council Policy

l. Purpose

Dyersburg State Community College values shared governance and emphasizes college-wide communication, discussion, and collaboration. The following policy defines the membership and responsibilities of the Administrative Council.

II. Scope

Administrative Council is comprised of the following voting members.

- President, Chair (Non-voting)
- Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Success
- Vice President for Finance and Administrative Services
- Vice President for Information Technology and Facilities Management
- Vice President of External Affairs
- Dean of Arts, Sciences, and Technologies
- Dean of Health Sciences
- Three Faculty from Each Division, including the Faculty Assembly Chair (6 Total)
- One Representative from the Administrative Professionals Council
- Dean of the Jimmy Naifeh Center
- Dean of Student Services
- Dean of the Learning Resource Center
- Dean of Effectiveness, Planning, and Research
- Assistant Dean of Student Services
- Executive Director of Workforce Services
- Chief of Police
- Director of Human Resources
- Director of the Henry County Center
- Director of Physical Plant
- Director of Admissions and Records
- Director of Information Technology
- Director of Financial Aid
- Director of Enrollment Services
- Director of Administrative Services
- Director of Internal Audit (Non-voting)
- Coordinator of Student Life, Dyersburg and HCC
- Coordinator of Student Life, JNC
- Director of TRIO
- Director of Distance Education and Instructional Development
- Director of Athletics
- Comptroller
- Counselor/ADA Coordinator
- Public Relations Coordinator

- Veterans Liaison
- Administrative Assistant for the President's Office (Non-voting)

III. Policy

The Administrative Council offers advice, recommendations, and updates regarding the edit and creation of DSCC policy and serves as the approval body for all policy adoptions, changes, or revocations. Administrative Council is also the body responsible for approval of revisions to the College's Mission and Vision Statements and the Strategic Plan. Administrative Council shall be chaired by the President and will meet six times per year or as called by the President. The meetings will typically be scheduled in September, October, November, February, March, and April. Special meetings or email votes may be requested for urgent business.

Meetings are open to all employees of the institution to observe. Only Administrative Council Members will be recognized for business, but other guests may be asked to participate, based on topics or policies discussed at meetings.

IV. Compliance

This policy applies to all members of Administrative Council regarding meetings and purpose of the Council and to all employees regarding the approval process for policy, the Mission and Vision, and the Strategic Plan.

V. Definitions

None

VI. Revision History

Policy approved by Administrative Council on 9/29/2022. Revised and approved by Administrative Council on 4/27/2023. Revised and approved by Administrative Council on 9/26/2024.